Fifty-two women, men and businesses have been nominated for the 45th Tribute to Women celebration. The event, which serves as EmBe’s premier fundraiser, honors the achievements of women in the community and recognizes men, women and businesses that show a commitment to empowering women and families. The honorees were nominated in one of the following categories: Business Achievement, Banking & Finance, Government & Law, Healthcare & STEM, Community Service, Humanities & Education, Young Woman of Achievement, Sylvia Henkin Mentoring Award, and the EmBeliever Award.

The following women, men and businesses have been recognized by their peers for their outstanding achievements (nominees listed with their employer):

Banking & Finance
Jeanni Stahl, MetaBank
Katie Johnson, Great Western Bank
Marie Fredrickson, US Bank
Marcy Crawford, Citi

Business Achievement
Courtney Jacobson, Sammons Financial Group
Shelly Johnson, Lawrence & Schiller
Becka Burger, HenkinSchultz
Carrie Biondi, Lawrence & Schiller
Cindy Elifrits Peterson, Maximizing Excellence, LLC
Amy Rollinger, Throne Publishing Group
Colette Manning, Sanford Health

Community Service
Stephanie Bengford, US Attorney’s Office
Kathy Rutten, SD Network Against Family Violence and Sexual Assault
Jan Norwine, Meta Payment Systems
Priscilla Jorve, Retired
Diane Bauch, The First National Bank of Sioux Falls
Mary Ihli, Retired
Penny Porter, Retired
Lori Murray, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center
Lori Hanson, Sanford Health
Geraldine Pedersen, Jasper Historical Society

Center for Family Medicine
Dan Kuik, Sanford Health Hospice
Joy Johnson, Girl Scouts Dakota Horizons
Bob Sutton, Avera Health
Pat McAdaragh, Midco
Trent Sorbe, Central Payments

Government & Law
Barbara Wetrosky, South Dakota Department of Human Services
Sandy Frentz, City of Sioux Falls Health Department
Kristina Schaefer, First Bank & Trust
Jennifer Petersen, ACLU of SD
Sharla Svennes, Myers Billion

Healthcare & STEM
Michelle Booze, Sanford Health
Dr. Kelly Rhone, Avera eCARE
Dr. Allison Suttle, Sanford Health

Humanities & Education
Lynell Weeg, HenkinSchultz
Tina Lenz, Sioux Falls Lutheran School
Laura Chandler, South Dakota State University

Sylvia Henkin Mentoring Award
Jan Haugen-Rogers, Sanford Health
Lori Popkes, Avera McKennan Hospital

Young Woman of Achievement
Ashley Ballou-Bonnema, Breathe Bravely
Sarah McGuire, American Bank & Trust
Rebecca Donaldson, LSS/Family Connections/Safehome/Huntingtons
Megan Jaquet, CTE: Sioux Falls School District
Betsy Doyle, Minnehaha County Public Defender
Marlee Hayes, Marlee Hayes Art
Katie Iverson, Glamour Defined
Lucy Albers, SMG
Michaela Seiber, Sanford Research
Teri Bergeleen, Avera Health
Ashton Dockendorf, Lemonly
Berit Foss, University of South Dakota­

All members of the community are invited to attend Tribute to Women on Thursday, April 19, 2018 beginning at 5:30PM at the Washington Pavilion with hors d’oeuvres and a silent auction. The awards ceremony commences at 7:00PM in the Mary W. Sommervold Hall. Early bird tickets are available now through March 30 for $65. After March 30, tickets are $75. Tickets are available at

The funds raised from the event will provide scholarships for children to participate in camps and sports programs, help working parents obtain safe, affordable childcare and offer young women leaders the tools that they need to set and accomplish personal and professional goals in life. For more information or or sponsorship requests, contact Samantha Bucknell at 605-336-3662 ext. 205 or

Share This Post!