Girls Maker Day

Home/Youth/Girls Maker Day
Girls Maker Day2021-10-27T15:01:04-05:00

Project Description

CLICK HERE TO TUNE IN TO KIDS MAKER WEEK

INFORMATION

For more information or questions, please contact Allison Sinning at 605.681.8362 or asinning@embe.org.

LOCATIONS

EMBE AVERA DOWNTOWN

300 W. 11th Street Sioux Falls, SD  57104 Phone:  605.336.3660 Fax:  605.336.2238 email: info@embe.org

Introducing girls to Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math (STEAM) through hands on activities!

Girls Maker Day is a free fair geared towards girls ages 7 – 12 that offers a variety of hands on activities and informational booths aimed at introducing girls to different  STEAM related fields. Girls can explore these academic areas with creativity and innovation! This one day, open house style event takes place at the Downtown EmBe location twice a year in the fall and spring.

GIRLS MAKER DAY UPDATE: EmBe is proud to serve the community and we place your health and safety at the top of our priorities. With this in mind, and in an effort to protect those from the spread of COVID-19, we must continue to postpone this event until gathering in large groups is safe again.  Tentatively, the next Girls Maker Day will take place in the Fall of 2021.

Color Changing Celery Additional Resources:

How Plants Breathe – https://littlebinsforlittlehands.com/how-do-plants-breathe/
Photosynthesis for Kids, Learn How Plants Make Their Own Food – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iln136eMl4g
How does water move in plants? (Celery experiment for older kids) – https://untamedscience.com/biology/plants/water-transport-experiment/

Homemade Maze Additional Resources:

DIY Maze of Straws for Kids – https://www.parentsfirst.babyfirsttv.com/post/diy-maze-of-straws-for-kids
Paper Towel Roll & Pom Pom Challenge – https://www.raisingdragons.com/paper-towel-roll-pom-pom-challenge/
Build a Marble Run with Craft Sticks – https://frugalfun4boys.com/build-marble-run-craft-sticks/
Make a Ball Maze Hand-Eye Coordination Game – https://frugalfun4boys.com/make-ball-maze-hand-eye-coordination-game/

BioPlastics Additional Resources

Make Plastic From Milk? You Can With Science! – https://www.steampoweredfamily.com/activities/make-plastic-from-milk/
How To Make Gelatin Bioplastic – https://www.steampoweredfamily.com/activities/how-to-make-plastic-clear-gelatin-plastic-science-project/
Legos Made from Plants – https://www.lego.com/en-us/aboutus/news/2019/october/lego-plants-made-from-plants

Water & Aquatics Additional Resources

Wet and Wow! 5 Fun Bathtub Activities for Kids – https://www.kindercare.com/content-hub/articles/2017/march/wet-and-wow-5-fun-science-experiments-for-the-bath
Simple Kids Science: Set Up a Bathtub Science Lab! – https://childhood101.com/simple-kids-science-bathtub-science-lab/
Here’s How to Guarantee Your Kids Will Take a Bath Every Day – https://redtri.com/cool-ideas-for-bathtime-fun/

May Day Baskets Additional Resources

May Day Baskets for Friends! – http://secretsofasupermommy.blogspot.com/2010/05/may-day-baskets-for-friends.html
More May Day Basket Ideas – https://mommyapolis.com/2013/04/17/may-day-baskets-3/
8 easy May Day baskets to make with kids – https://www.babycenter.com/609_8-easy-may-day-baskets-to-make-with-kids_20003478.bc

Our Partners:

Read the latest news regarding Youth Programs

Can you empower women and families with a donation?

The COVID-19 pandemic impacts our community more and more each day. Suspending program offerings and decreasing demand for childcare are impacting our organization. We ask you to consider a donation to EmBe so that we can respond to urgent community needs like childcare scholarships and employment resources. Click here to learn more about how you can help.

click here to help

COVID-19 UPDATES

Click here to learn more about EmBe’s Program Scheduling changes due to COVID-19.

LEARN MORE

Hours

While EmBe’s childcare operation is reopening with limited services on March 30, EmBe’s offices are closed.

Get In Touch

300 West 11th Street

Phone: (605) 336-3660

Fax: (605) 336-2238

Go to Top